Letters to the Editor

Sat 21 Sep 2019

Guess what's going to happen when 'Mt Bonnick' fills up...

premium_icon Guess what's going to happen when 'Mt Bonnick' fills up...

OPINION: Seriously, our plan appears to be to beg use of neighbouring councils' tips. At a substantial cost, no doubt.

ENOUGH! Fed up Gympie driver vows to let texters have it

premium_icon ENOUGH! Fed up Gympie driver vows to let texters have it

I'm completely over it and I cannot believe how much of an epidemic it has become. When did this become OK?

Fri 20 Sep 2019

NO GO: Curran, CEO, head-nodders have let us down too often

premium_icon NO GO: Curran, CEO, head-nodders have let us down too often

LETTER: All of a sudden the powers that be at Gympie Regional Council are out to prove how honest and transparent they are.

Wed 11 Sep 2019

Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

‘The proposed euthanasia legislation is linked to aged and palliative care, which is frightening’

We are damned without more dams

premium_icon We are damned without more dams

Dams and pipelines should be our number one infrastructure priority.

Mon 9 Sep 2019

No grand parade, $5 cover charge and windblown dustbowl

premium_icon No grand parade, $5 cover charge and windblown dustbowl

OPINION: Kilkivan Great Horse Ride not so great for newcomer looking forward to the spectacle of the grand parade

'CEO must act - give Gympie gun clubs 60 days to vacate'

premium_icon 'CEO must act - give Gympie gun clubs 60 days to vacate'

OPINION: The council CEO needs to urgently act in ratepayers, koalas and kids health interests and, without waiting for councillor approval 

'Welcoming' citizens of Gympie at their hypocritical best

premium_icon 'Welcoming' citizens of Gympie at their hypocritical best

LETTER: Lately, I've read many comments which strongly indicate to me there's still, in 2019, a very unhealthy "closed shop” attitude about Gympie.

'Future Gympie mayor' demands to see rattler paperwork

premium_icon 'Future Gympie mayor' demands to see rattler paperwork

LETTER: Obviously, Cr Stewart had a different interpretation of what they discussed and voted on with the letter of comfort.

We are a nation that rewards power and influence

premium_icon We are a nation that rewards power and influence

LETTER: One of the authors of Game of Mates, Dr Cameron Murray, exposes how power and influence have bled the nation and the powerless taxpayer.

Sun 8 Sep 2019

Council is hypocritical, not transparent after hiding report

premium_icon Council is hypocritical, not transparent after hiding report

LETTER: I fail to see how inserting another layer of bureaucracy can do anything but reduce efficiency and increase consumer costs.

Perrett says NAPLAN 'won't fix the problem' - what problem?

premium_icon Perrett says NAPLAN 'won't fix the problem' - what problem?

LETTER: Mr Perrett says NAPLAN "won't fix the problem”, but does not state what he thinks the problem is.

Sat 7 Sep 2019

What is Rattler Railway Company's relationship to council?

premium_icon What is Rattler Railway Company's relationship to council?

LETTER: Ratepayers funding the Rattler deserve to know the full story of the RRC, how many people it employs, what are it obligations and more

Tue 3 Sep 2019

MP recants 'deliberate fabrication' comment re Imbil plan

premium_icon MP recants 'deliberate fabrication' comment re Imbil plan

'I am publicly withdrawing my comment the proposal is based on "deliberate fabrications” and to clarify I didn't personally direct my comments at Greg Roberts'

Mon 2 Sep 2019

Financing this failing project their own political funeral

premium_icon Financing this failing project their own political funeral

OPINION: Gympie councillors' egos are of more concern to them than genuine local needs

Sat 31 Aug 2019

OPINION: Financial train wreck Gympie's ongoing burden

premium_icon OPINION: Financial train wreck Gympie's ongoing burden

LETTER: The real shock is that in one year the Rattler Railway Company "...recorded a $420,000 loss and a net liability of $335,000.”

Mon 26 Aug 2019

More Newstart will help more people into jobs

premium_icon More Newstart will help more people into jobs

Scott Morrison and at least most federal government MPs want unemployed Australians to get a job.

Roaming dogs a threat to children, livestock at Wolvi

premium_icon Roaming dogs a threat to children, livestock at Wolvi

OPINION: What is it going to take? A death of an innocent person or very well cared for livestock?

Collapse of one of Gympie's best events an 'utter disgrace'

premium_icon Collapse of one of Gympie's best events an 'utter disgrace'

OPINION: Our local people wait for this event every year. Shops decorated, people dressing up, wonderful atmosphere.

Sun 25 Aug 2019

‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

premium_icon ‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

A tourist to the Sunshine Coast was thrilled by the generous and trusting nature of a local who he had asked for directions.

Newer Older