Letters to the Editor

Tue 6 Nov 2018

How long it took abortion bill to become law is 'only shame'

premium_icon How long it took abortion bill to become law is 'only shame'

MAY I attempt to balance the argument, please? I have resisted the urge to comment on the extreme bias of the opinions expressed here since October 18.

Why aren't Gympie council buildings adorned in solar panels?

premium_icon Why aren't Gympie council buildings adorned in solar panels?

Letter: Why isn't every rubbish dump extracting the methane from within and using that gas to power electricity generators?

Mon 5 Nov 2018

Spectacular Gympie event better than Brisbane's

premium_icon Spectacular Gympie event better than Brisbane's

Events like this and the Gympie Muster put us on the map: Letter

America has to learn from Australia when it comes to guns

premium_icon America has to learn from Australia when it comes to guns

"Take away the civilian access to automatic military style weapons America, that is the obvious answer."

Fri 2 Nov 2018

Of his 60 years in teaching, 23 in Gympie were the best

premium_icon Of his 60 years in teaching, 23 in Gympie were the best

Letter: I have met many excellent teachers, some of whom you nominated. As you no doubt realise, there are many more out there in Gympie schools.

'Diabetes, weight and quality of life improved by veganism'

premium_icon 'Diabetes, weight and quality of life improved by veganism'

Letter: Imagine how our stressed health system could benefit

Thu 1 Nov 2018

Gympie farmer slams inept pollies, 'supermarket bashing'

premium_icon Gympie farmer slams inept pollies, 'supermarket bashing'

Letter: The only answer is for the Federal Government to direct money to farmers where it is needed, not to Royal Commissions where it is not.

Tue 30 Oct 2018

Gun lobby backs Trump, who is soft on reducing their power

premium_icon Gun lobby backs Trump, who is soft on reducing their power

While ever there is civil unrest and money to be made, there is a global demand for weapons.

Accept responsibility for your actions in 'rolling the dice'

premium_icon Accept responsibility for your actions in 'rolling the dice'

The asylum seekers rolled the dice when they paid people smugglers huge amounts of money to be smuggled into Australia with their children.

Waste your own money on electric cars if you like, not mine

premium_icon Waste your own money on electric cars if you like, not mine

Letter: If you have money to burn to make you feel better then good for you

Mon 29 Oct 2018

Showgrounds a credit to Gympie and those who maintain them

premium_icon Showgrounds a credit to Gympie and those who maintain them

Gympie Showgrounds are a credit to our city and those responsible for the upkeep of the gardens and surrounds should be commended for the beautiful presentation

Gympie child abuse protester stands ground despite complaint

premium_icon Gympie child abuse protester stands ground despite complaint

Gympie Letter: I am very disappointed that the children (abused) on the hill above Mary St apparently don't matter to one female trying to make a dollar

Tue 23 Oct 2018

Heartbreak as old, former puppy farm dog stolen near Gympie

Heartbreak as old, former puppy farm dog stolen near Gympie

We love Tara so much please let her come home.

Mon 22 Oct 2018

LETTERS: Fair go for Pauline

LETTERS: Fair go for Pauline

THE media has had a field day last week in highlighting the despicable and unjust attack on DrKaren Phelps in her run-up to the by-election.

I live in Pie Ck, you in Woolooga, but we are both Div 6

premium_icon I live in Pie Ck, you in Woolooga, but we are both Div 6

'I was questioning whether divisional representation works well and that you are across the issues in Division 6, merely by residing within the same locality;

Gympie deserves better than 'slow, old, letters Tony'

premium_icon Gympie deserves better than 'slow, old, letters Tony'

LETTER: I propose we all pitch in and buy Tony Perrett a phone.

Sun 21 Oct 2018

Letter: The power of the pen strikes again

premium_icon Letter: The power of the pen strikes again

Letter :It is time to get our Australia back from politicians who have sold us out to multinationals and are holding our farmers to ransom

Fri 19 Oct 2018

An abortion at 22 weeks will haunt a woman for life: letter

premium_icon An abortion at 22 weeks will haunt a woman for life: letter

Gympie letter writer says 'As ridiculous as it sounds the old saying that 'only the good girls get caught' was meant to ease their feelings of guilt'

10 best things I've read this week

10 best things I've read this week

It has been a challenging and emotional week not just on a personal level, and for the Gympie region, but state-wide as the abortion debate has gone on

Tue 16 Oct 2018

Decreasing talent pool an argument against council divisions

premium_icon Decreasing talent pool an argument against council divisions

Letter: How many ratepayers have actually seen or heard from their divisional representative since council was elected?

Newer Older