Letters to the Editor

Mon 11 Feb 2019

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Go against the flow with a wagon instead of an expensive SUV

Buy a prestige SUV that never goes off-road — or get a luxe wagon that looks equally classy at the golf club

Sun 10 Feb 2019

Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

premium_icon Bad call on funding shortfall for Crime Stoppers

This organisation solved many crimes and was a respected and viable asset to our under-manned police service.

Sat 9 Feb 2019

LETTER: Dagun snubbed, insulted, not consulted, disrespected

premium_icon LETTER: Dagun snubbed, insulted, not consulted, disrespected

LETTER: Hard work and dedication has received the ultimate insult.

Fri 8 Feb 2019

Why Gympie council meetings should be live streamed

premium_icon Why Gympie council meetings should be live streamed

LETTER: Transparency is clearly not a high priority on the council's policy agenda.

Wed 6 Feb 2019

'Faceless' man answers critic, says he won't run for council

premium_icon 'Faceless' man answers critic, says he won't run for council

OPINION: I don't seek publicity and as far as the next council goes, if I'm still here, I'm most likely to vote for Dan Stewart

Sat 2 Feb 2019

Council pre-selection squad given a 'leg up' if they run

premium_icon Council pre-selection squad given a 'leg up' if they run

OPINION: Perhaps the more politically aggressive female readers would challenge the gender distribution of 17 males to 11 females.

Tue 29 Jan 2019

Who should run for Gympie council, who should walk away

premium_icon Who should run for Gympie council, who should walk away

OPINION: It appears The Gympie Times editorial and reporting staff are trying to dictate to ratepayers just who should be our councillors

Who will want to live here with no private hospital?

premium_icon Who will want to live here with no private hospital?

OPINION: Specialists found it easier to stay on the Sunshine Coast or Brisbane than drive to Gympie

Mon 28 Jan 2019

Why Llew O'Brien is 'a different breed of politician'

premium_icon Why Llew O'Brien is 'a different breed of politician'

LETTER: I have been friends with Llew O'Brien for near-on 20 years

Sun 27 Jan 2019

'I should feel frustrated, having lost 2 important motions'

premium_icon 'I should feel frustrated, having lost 2 important motions'

Fredman: I'm not frustrated. It's just politics and the majority rules in council.

Sat 26 Jan 2019

OPINION: Rattler blowout report needs to be made public

premium_icon OPINION: Rattler blowout report needs to be made public

It is strange, in my opinion, that those who appear to have most at stake are the ones with most contact and are in no way at arms length to this report.

Fri 25 Jan 2019

Perrett's 'confected outrage' over Australia Day lacks facts

premium_icon Perrett's 'confected outrage' over Australia Day lacks facts

OPINION: Really, Mr Perrett is that the best you could do?

Thu 24 Jan 2019

OPINION: New council dept head's comments need clarification

premium_icon OPINION: New council dept head's comments need clarification

If council wants "...a more unified pride in who we are, what we stand for, where we're going” it should start by reinstating a Rattler stop at Dagun

Wed 23 Jan 2019

Costly public facility is 'a noose around our necks'

premium_icon Costly public facility is 'a noose around our necks'

I've visited a lot of pools elsewhere and haven't identified anywhere that's done it as badly as Gympie, especially considering the cost: letter

Tue 22 Jan 2019

Why we are lucky to live where we live - in Gympie region

premium_icon Why we are lucky to live where we live - in Gympie region

IT IS easy to grumble about life when we disagree with things that annoy us or seem out of our control. There is another side we should appreciate

Mon 21 Jan 2019

Sat 19 Jan 2019

Waste water fee a Gympie gouge no other council charges

premium_icon Waste water fee a Gympie gouge no other council charges

Letter: They are claiming not to charge us, by charging the service people. Who are they kidding? Naturally it gets passed on to us.

What are the chances of a ratepayer's Rattler rebate?

premium_icon What are the chances of a ratepayer's Rattler rebate?

Letter: If the Rattler is enjoying so many customers and making money, is there any chance of a donation to Little Haven Palliative Care?

Fri 18 Jan 2019

January 26 is not a date that can unify Australia, change it

January 26 is not a date that can unify Australia, change it

OPINION: IT IS well beyond time to acknowledge the reality of our nation's history: that to the First Peoples of Australia, January 26 is a painful reminder

Thu 17 Jan 2019

Best way to deal with worry

premium_icon Best way to deal with worry

It has recently been acknowledged that “worry” is essential, however what shall we do with it?

Newer Older