Hockey juniors celebrate

GYMPIE junior hockey season wrapped up last weekend. The Youth Boys' final lasted two hours before Thundersticks were declared the winners.

Saturday, the Under 13 final teams, Panthers and Blades, went down as the last teams to play on the 25-year-old sand based.

A list of junior hockey awards is as follows:

Main Awards: Junior Goalkeeper of the Year Harrison Parker. Junior Player of the Year Drew Wenzel. Dedicated Junior Male – Jye Weller. Dedicated Junior Female – Shanelle Adams

Umpires - Grand Finals: Under 9 – Jared Parke, Jamie Austin. Under 11 -Jye Weller, Mitchell Collins. Under 13- Joey Collins, Drew Wenzel. Youth - Ben Fitzpatrick, Paul Collins

Under 9: Most Valuable Under 9 Boy – Noah Collins. Most Valuable Under 9 Girl - Jamie Mills. Blades – Best & Fairest – Hayden Cottrill. Coach's Award – Amelia Parker. Hot Shots –Best & Fairest – Connor Henwood. Most Improved – Ben Hausmann. Vikings - Best & Fairest - Jamie Mills. Encouragement Award – Rory Nichols. Scorchers Best & Fairest – Noah Collins. Coach's Award – Jeremy Wilson

Under 11: Most Valuable Under 11 Girl – Stephanie Mills. Most Valuable Under 11 Boy – Matthew Hurrell, Blades Most Valuable:Harrison Parker, Most Consistent: Mitchell Grant, Most Improved: Christine Dowling, Hot Shots Best & Fairest: Stephanie Mills, Coach's Award: Alec Lee, Most Improved: Declan Nicol, Panthers Best & Fairest: Shanelle Adams, Coach's Award: Abby McKean, Most Improved: Taylor Murray, Thundersticks Best & Fairest Matthew Hurrell, Most Consistent Zeke Hausmann, Most Improved Caitlin Lovell

Under 13: Most Valuable Girl – Under 13 Competition – Keely McKean, Most Valuable Under 13 Boy – Leon Green, Blades Best & Fairest Dale McVicar, Coach's Award Lachlan Millar, Most Improved Mikaela Hourigan, Hot Shots Best & Faires tKeely McKean, Coach's Award Mackenzie Bowser, Most Improved Taylor Jardine, Panthers Most Valuable Leon Green, Most Consistent Eli Villenguez, Most Improved Cobey Grant, Thundersticks Best & Fairest Madeline Austin, Coach's Award Ashleigh Alexander, Most Improved Alana King

Youth: Perpetual Trophy – Best & Fairest Youth Competition – Nathan Stephens, Blades Best & Fairest Jared Parke, Coach's Award Denis Gerrard, Most Improved Patrick Hanlon, Hot Shots Best & Fairest Luke Bishop, Encouragement Award Jordan Tebb, Most Improved Sam Hausmann, Panthers Best & Fairest Clancy Adams, Coach's Award Brennan Wilson, Most Improved Lachlan Kenman, Thundersticks Best & Fairest Joey Collins, Most Creative Playmaker Lachlan Mount, Most Improved: Jed Webb

Gympie Times

Gympie pub to help drought farmers with beers this weekend

premium_icon Gympie pub to help drought farmers with beers this weekend

It's the Australian way to help a mate when things are tough

Chainsaw used in Bruce Hwy road rage, car rammed for 30m

premium_icon Chainsaw used in Bruce Hwy road rage, car rammed for 30m

One victim was rammed from behind for 30m up the road.

UPDATE: Bushfire still alight near Gympie

UPDATE: Bushfire still alight near Gympie

Crews remain at the scene to monitor bushfire at North Deep Creek

Local Partners