Alarming facts about the Wallabies' Eden Park drought

New Zealand captain Richie McCaw with the Bledisloe Cup in 2015.
New Zealand captain Richie McCaw with the Bledisloe Cup in 2015. DAVID ROWLAND

MUCH has happened to Australian rugby since the Wallabies last beat the All Blacks at Eden Park in 1986.

- The Wallabies have had 24 different captains since Andrew Slack led the Wallabies to that 22-9 triumph: Simon Poidevin, David Codey, Michael Lynagh, Nick Farr-Jones, Phil Kearns, Rod McCall, John Eales, Tim Horan, David Wilson, Jason Little, George Gregan, Chris Whitaker, Nathan Sharpe, Phil Waugh, Stirling Mortlock, George Smith, Rocky Elsom, James Horwill, Will Genia, David Pocock, Ben Mowen, Stephen Moore, Michael Hooper and Dean Mumm.

- Alan Jones was the coach who guided the Australians to that victory, but he never returned to Eden Park to face the All Blacks again. Eight coaches have held the Wallabies reins since: Bob Dwyer, Greg Smith, Rod Macqueen, Eddie Jones, John Connolly, Robbie Deans, Ewen McKenzie and Michael Cheika.

- The Wallabies have handed out 242 debuts since that Test in Auckland, starting with halfback Brian Smith against Korea in May 1987, to the latest being Leroy Houston earlier this month against Argentina at Twickenham.

- Since that Test in 1986, Australia has played 343 matches (213 wins, eight draws, 122 losses). At Eden Park they have played 16 Tests for zero wins.

- The Wallabies have played in eight World Cups since last beating the All Blacks at Eden Park, winning twice (1991 and 1999) and twice finishing runner-up (2003 and 2015).

- Since 1986 there have been 30 Bledisloe Cups contested, New Zealand winning 23 to just seven for the Aussies. The Wallabies' last triumph in the trans-Tasman series was in 2002.


Topics:  all blacks bledisloe cup wallabies